Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.95 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Steel's Gourmet
Sugar Substitute

 
Write an online review for
Sugar Substitute (Steel's Gourmet)

19 Reviews
Average rating
(18)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(1)

Customer Reviews  

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
June 26, 2007
Reviewer: Jenny in Virginia
These cook/bake/caramelize just like regular sugar. I make caramel, candy, cookies, and add them to whatever I want. The powdered is just like powdered, syrup just like corn syrup, crystals act like cane sugar etc. You just have to remember what maltitol does and be careful with who you feed it to :). These are perfect for low-carb cooking when Splenda does not give you the result you want.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 13, 2013
Reviewer: Diana in Alabama
Steel's sweeteners are all excellent. I make everything from cakes to candies to cookies with outstanding results. There is no aftertaste or bitter taste with any of the sweeteners, and recipes do not have to be altered in any way to accommodate any of the sweeteners.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 14, 2013
Reviewer: Karen in New York
This substitute beats everything found in the grocery store by a long shot. It works the closest to real sugar.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 29, 2012
Reviewer: Earl D in Tennessee
My wife makes a wicked pecan pie using this product in place of the syrup generaly used. Also great in oatmeal or tea.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 18, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in Georgia
This is the ONLY sweetener to use in baking and cooking. Yes it does give you gas if you are not used to eating it so start out slowly, but once you get used to it there are no problems.
This review is specific to Sugar Substitute, Nature Sweet Crystals (maltitol crystals)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 18, 2011
Reviewer: Lenore in Michigan
I have been using Steel Gourmet's sugar substitute for 8 years now. Steel Gourmet provides my husband and I the ability to bake sweets, especially cookies. My baked goods turn out perfect. Other substitutes prevented me from making baked goods like cookies. Steel Gourmet's sugar's doesn't change the structure of my baked goods, in fact, they look like and taste like I baked with real sugar. I'm also grateful that they provide me with brown sugar and powdered sugar. I highly recommend this product!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 04, 2011
Reviewer: connie in California
Tastes just like normal sugar. It is a little lumpy, but easy to break the lumps.
This review is specific to Sugar Substitute, Nature Sweet Crystals (maltitol crystals)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 14, 2011
Reviewer: Sally in Washington
I am ordering again, the white is better than the brown in my opinion but this is the best sugar replacement I have tried and I have tried many of them.
This review is specific to Sugar Substitute, Nature Sweet Crystals (maltitol crystals)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 21, 2010
Reviewer: Tressa in New York
I had gastric bypass and no longer can tolerate sugar. I tried the sugar substitute(Steel's Gourmet) around Thanksgiving and was able to enjoy pumpkin cake with my family. I really did not taste a difference from the original recipe. I just ordered more so I can be prepared for Christmas. I love that the texture and taste was not altered by the substitute sugar.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 11, 2010
Reviewer: SANDRA in Florida
I love Steel's powder sugar. It is smooth and not gritty. It makes great icing for cakes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 30, 2010
Reviewer: Mercy in Maine
This product is terrific. I made two batches of cookies, one using regular sugar and one using Steel's Gourmet Sugar Substitute. No one in my family could tell the difference. I have since used it in cakes, muffins, icings, and brownies. I cannot have sugar at all so this product is a lifesaver, and it helps my family eat less too!
This review is specific to Sugar Substitute, Nature Sweet Crystals (maltitol crystals)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 08, 2010
Reviewer: Karen in Pennsylvania
I've used all of the maltitol crystals (brown and white) and the maltitol powder. Of the alternate sweeteners on the market, these taste just like sugar and act the most like sugar in "difficult" cooking techniques. I have used them to make peanut and cashew brittle - they brown nicely and caramelize exactly like sugar. I've used the powdered form to make cake icings and frosting - the texture is wonderful and the taste will "fool" even the most die-hard sugar lover.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 07, 2010
Reviewer: Janice in Texas
This is the best sugar free powder. I use it mainly in a Pecan Icing recipe, it is delicious. No one could ever tell it is sugar free. What a great product.
This review is specific to Sugar Substitute, Nature Sweet Powder (maltitol powder)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 22, 2010
Reviewer: Necia in Ohio
I have used all 3, the brown sugar, white sugar and powdered sugar and I feel it is the best I have used as a sugar substitute for baking. It doesn't affect baking the way other popular sugar substitutes do. The breads and cakes are light and fluffy and rise the way they should. The taste far outweighs any other as well. You won't regret buying this product.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 14, 2008
Reviewer: Cheryl in Illinois
Steele's Gourmet crystal maltitol is the best artificial sweetener on the planet. It looks like sugar, feels like sugar, measures like sugar, and tastes like sugar. On those occasions when I need to lose a few pounds, I wouldn't be without it.
This review is specific to Sugar Substitute, Nature Sweet Crystals (maltitol crystals)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 02, 2008
Reviewer: Phil in Connecticut
This product is wonderful when unable to use sugar. It works just like sugar in baking and cooking. I use a little extra when baking as it is somewhat less sweet than sugar. I have used all three varieties; crystal, brown, and powder and have been pleased with all of them and I highly recommend them.
This review is specific to Sugar Substitute, Nature Sweet Crystals (maltitol crystals)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 07, 2007
Reviewer: James in New York
I've always been pleased with the Steel's sweeteners. Good flavor, no weird aftertaste, and no real digestive distress (for me) when used in sane quantities. I tend to mix it with sucralose and other sweeteners when baking for best overall effect. I hope they stick around.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 12, 2007
Reviewer: Patricia in California
This is the best sugar substitute that I have ever tried. It was necessary to find a product like this when I became diabetic and I already knew the various products that I would not even consider using. This has no after taste and I noticed that some companies were beginning to use it in the candy that they produced for diabetics. I've used this for baking and it worked just fine. Now I tell anyone who will listen what a terrific product it is!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 13, 2008
Reviewer: Cindy in Kansas
The brown sugar substitute is a gross waste of money. It barely tastes sweet with a faint brown sugar taste. To get any flavor at all, you would have to add so much that it would be quite caloric, not to mention the GI distress. Use sugar free maple syrup instead for oatmeal and the like. Save your money!!
This review is specific to Sugar Substitute, Brown Nature Sweet Crystals (brown maltitol crystals)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.95 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement