Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.95 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Bob's Red Mill
Low Carb Bread Mix

 
Write an online review for
Low Carb Bread Mix (Bob's Red Mill)

42 Reviews
Average rating
(30)
(3)
(2)
(2)
(5)

Customer Reviews  

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful.
November 05, 2009
Reviewer: THERESA in Massachusetts
I tried something different with the bread mix. I used it to make my own pizza crust. I have been dying for pizza and have tried a few mixes that were nasty and did not have a crust that would rise when baked. OMG! I love it! I baked it at 450 instead of the 350 for the bread. Yahoo, I have pizza again!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful.
April 11, 2011
Reviewer: Michelle in Missouri
Made this without machine, very easy and came out great! It does not have a lot of taste but it has a good texture and will do the trick for me. Now I can have my blt's this summer. It satisfies the craving for bread. Will buy again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
May 11, 2007
Reviewer: Dorena in New Mexico
Great bread! Easy to make and bakes well and has a great homebaked taste.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
December 15, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Mississippi
WONDERFUL PRODUCT! I've been low carbing for about 3 yrs and have lost over 130 lbs...this is a great product I have tried them all. 5 stars on taste and texture of this bread! I have a bread making machine and it baked it perfectly. Try it sliced thin, then toast in the toaster you can not tell this is low carb bread...love love love it! Don't forget to add some Walden Farms sugar free orange marmalade another 5 star product...eat healthy and enjoy life!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
April 12, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in New Jersey
Has anybody made this without a bread machine?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
September 07, 2008
Reviewer: Debra in Minnesota
I love this bread so much I went out and bought a bread machine! When my local stores quit stocking Natural Ovens breads, I thought my grilled cheese days were over. Not any more. Bob's Red Mill low carb bread is fantastic and I would heartily recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
December 21, 2007
Reviewer: Julie in Texas
Before I found BOB I had not eaten bread for 6 months. I now eat it at least once a day. Thank You BOB... HINT: If you make it by hand you can use the heavy cream. If you use half and half for the machine it won't bog down so much.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 09, 2014
Reviewer: Sandra in California
This bread is great. Been buying Sara Lee 45 cal bread because it has 9 carbs a slice. Tiny slice. This bread makes TWO loaves. I put in one loaf pan first time and it rose about 7 inches higher. I do not use a bread machine. Make this in my mixer to knead. Love the taste. Can be used to make so many different breads just depends what you want to add to it. Can't say enough about this bread.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 22, 2013
Reviewer: A customer in Colorado
Delicious bread and easy to make. I was ordering a different brand, but their products are not as good as they used to be. This bread has a nice texture and taste.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 12, 2013
Reviewer: Christiana in Florida
I have gotten some pretty odd shapes when I open the bread machine, LOL, but nevertheless delicious! I do prefer slicing as needed and then toasting.. nice crunchy crust :)p.s. I have also added chia seeds or hemp seeds to the dough for some extra healthiness.BAM
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 15, 2013
Reviewer: kim in North Carolina
This makes a nice size loaf that's light and fluffy and tastes good. Only draw back is it's 5 carbs a serving compared to a different bread flour which is 1.9 carbs a serving . Both make great breads, but being diabetic I prefer the lower carbs. I do like the convenience of the yeast packet being included in Bob's Red Mill Bread Mix though. Netrition is a great supplier of Low Carb Products and their service and shipping procedures are wonderful.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 03, 2012
Reviewer: nancy in New York
I just made this bread and I thought it was delicious. I think the texture and flavor is wonderful. I will be making more when I run out!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 10, 2012
Reviewer: Kathleen in Maryland
Very good, artisan-style bread. I found the crust bitter my first batch, but adding a quarter cup of sweetener made all the difference. High fiber...don't expect a white bread consistency! I miss my Ketogenics pumpernickel, and honey wheat, but I think I like this just as much. It's very different. I'd like Bob's Red Mill to experiment with flavorings for variety.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 25, 2011
Reviewer: Suzanne in Washington
My 15 year old daughter has been following a low-carb diet for a year. She has focused on very healthy eating and has lost and kept off 30lbs in 11 months. This product is fabulous, works in a bread machine and is perfect for a teenager who wants to eat healthy, but not feel deprived!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 21, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in Minnesota
Awesome product, my son is on the ketogenic diet for seizure control. This flour is so good I can make pizza crust with it and we can all enjoy it!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 28, 2011
Reviewer: MARGARET in Florida
Worked well in my bread machine. Tastes like a multi grain bread.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 16, 2011
Reviewer: Victoria in Virginia
I don't usually write reviews but this product is so good I just had to. Lo-carb breads have a reputation for being dense and without a tender crumb. Not so with this bread mix.

The taste is excellent with whole grains you can see throughout the loaf. This is now my go-to bread and it was a snap in t he bread machine.

One thing I changed was that I didn't rely on the yeast packet included with the mix. You just don't know how old it is so use a fresh packet instead.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 11, 2010
Reviewer: Heather in New Mexico
I will not eat low carb products that taste gross or yucky. I would just rather not have bread, or what-have-you, at all. But this bread is wonderful! I normally use it for making grilled cheese sandwiches, dipped in guacamole. It doesn't make my stomach queasy, as so many other low carb products do. I think the taste and texture are wonderful! I recommended to my mom, and she ordered some too.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 09, 2010
Reviewer: Janet in Wisconsin
Bobís Red Mill Low Carb Bread Mix is an excellent product. It comes with a packet of yeast right in the bag, which is a nice convenience. The bread comes out well in my bread machine, has nice texture, cuts well, and makes wonderful toast. I made stuffing with the bread once, and the texture was sponge like, but my family did not seem to mind. I used up this stuffing by putting it in chicken broth. The texture of the bread in the soup reminded me of Matzo balls! It was really good. I recommend this bread mix.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
March 12, 2010
Reviewer: James F. in Pennsylvania
It is best when toasted. For added flavor add a small can of crushed pineapple in place of 1 cup of water and a 1/2 cup chopped pecans. Delicious
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 05, 2010
Reviewer: Patrick in Missouri
Wow. All I can say is I was shocked about how good this is. We used a bread machine to make it and it was nice to have the smell of fresh baked bread again. All is not perfect, though.

There is a slight aftertaste like sourdough, which we enjoyed, but you might not like.

As with all bread substitutes it isn't like popping hot bakery bread into your mouth. The texture is a little off, but it is very light and airy.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 19, 2009
Reviewer: Raja in Maryland
This is a great low carb bread mix. It makes up a hearty and tasty bread mix. It is somewhat high calorie but is low carb and high fiber. It's a great treat for those of us who don't eat regular bread. This is a great tasting, high protein, low carb bread product.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 19, 2009
Reviewer: Kay in Texas
I like the low carb bread mix, except I didn't make adjustments for my 1 lb. bread machine and the bread actually lifted the lid off my machine! I'll try to adjust the amounts to get better results. The bread is very good and I will continue to buy it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 15, 2009
Reviewer: Barbara in Arkansas
I have tried low carb bread mixes before and this is the best mix I have found. It is filled with the taste of the natural grains. I now have buttered toast for breakfast and a slice of bread with my meals. I highly recommend this mix.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 01, 2009
Reviewer: Cara A in New York
This is heaven on earth!! I use a bread maker to make the dough, and bake it in two french-style loaves -- so delicious! The best I've tried in the last 6 years!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 22, 2008
Reviewer: HOLLY in Arizona
I have been living a very low carb lifestyle for 2 years and I missed having toast with my morning eggs or an occasional sandwich. I tried this product not expecting to like it but was pleasantly surprised. It was very easy to make and turned out a perfect one pound loaf of bread. I have had toast with my breakfast all week and it is delicious. I just ordered 4 more packages.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 17, 2008
Reviewer: Robert in Michigan
I love this bread, the taste is awesome. I have been on a low carb routine for the past 6 years and this is the first time in my life that I have been able to maintain my weight after losing over 70 lbs. Mr. Dr. has not been wild about my low carb diet, so finding ways to limit fat intake has been something I am working to balance. This bread allows me to include limited carbs, with some needed fiber in order to find a happy middle ground.

I put the mix in my bread mixer, and let it do it's thing. I then slice the bread and put it in the freezer. That way, I can use it a piece or two at a time, and not waste a single slice.

I love heavy whole wheat bread, and this is the ticket for me. This bread doesn't have any kind of funny taste, or after taste. OK, time for being honest here. There a number of products for low carber's that taste like glorified wood fibers, or worse. I've tried a great number of products in the low carb family, and this is really a good one, and one that I will continue to use. It is really nice to have something that tastes good, and is low carb as well, at least in this category!!

Thanks Netrition for carrying Bob's Red Mill Low Carb Bread Mix!!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 19, 2008
Reviewer: diana in North Carolina
This brown bread is best made in a bread machine, it makes a 2# or so loaf. Nice flavor and slices nice and thin. Texture is different then regular bread, slightly spongy and sturdy, but very satisfying.I like it better then Dixie Diners, which had a strange taste and makes a much smaller loaf.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 04, 2008
Reviewer: Anna-Maria in California
Worked very well in bread machine. Great toasted.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 21, 2008
Reviewer: Julian in Colorado
This mix was excellent when made in a bread machine and the loaf was easy to slice. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
February 28, 2013
Reviewer: John in Ohio
I've never baked anything in my life and don't have a bread machine. Just for fun, I posted a YouTube video of myself putting this bread mix together, not knowing what the result would be. It ended up surprisingly tasty. The bread was only a tad dry, but when toasted, it was quite good. If you'd like to see the process, do a YouTube search under "Making Low-Carb Bread."
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 10, 2014
Reviewer: Elizabeth in Florida
OK plain as packaged, but has a slight off-taste. Very Good with the addition of cinnamon or caraway seeds (rye taste) or pizza bread spices and flavorings.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 27, 2013
Reviewer: John in Ohio
I am a total novice at baking. It was very good, although perhaps a bit drier than ordinary bread. The product was at its best toasted. I would definitely buy it again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 28, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in Virginia
I have a bread machine and I found this mix to be just okay. I had comparable results with bread recipes I found online, and thanks to this site, I have a lot of different low carb flours to bake with. For someone who doesn't have a lot of flours and ingredients, this is good, so I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 03, 2011
Reviewer: david in Arizona
Baked up nice and pretty, wonderful smell, but had a heavy yet bland taste. Wont be buying again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
January 20, 2009
Reviewer: Laura in California
I have had several lc bread mixes. This one was definitely not the best. Lacked flavor. It's doable with a spread (jelly,peanut butter etc) but wouldn't recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
October 26, 2007
Reviewer: Jennifer in Michigan
While I generally enjoy the quality and taste of Bob's Red Mill products, I was not fond of this one. I prepared this bread mix in my bread machine. It was dense and essentially flavorless. It resembled bread that had been prepared with sawdust. I did not tell my family it was low-carb and they still wouldn't eat it. In fact, the birds and squirrels didn't especially care for it either. I will not be purchasing this bread mix again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
September 18, 2010
Reviewer: Yvonne in Norway
Tastes awful, can't really understand how others can actually recommend this product. Not going to buy this product again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
May 09, 2010
Reviewer: elisa in Maryland
I purchased this based on previous reviews and was shocked at what I wound up with. I am very experienced with my bread machine (4 year veteran)... and not sure what happened with this bread mix, but when the machine was finished.. the loaf of bread inside was lopsided as if it bubbled over on one side. The top 1/3 was all crust from the weird shape. I cut into it anyway. I just had to taste it! It was awful. Very chewy and spongy. Nothing new here. I think low carb has come much further than this in both textures and taste. I cannot recommend.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 05, 2014
Reviewer: Frances in Massachusetts
Had no problem making it in the bread machine; it rose beautifully and baked through just right. The problem is the taste--horrible, even with lots of butter and jam. I couldn't even get my son, who will eat anything, to eat more than one small slice. I eat low carb because of diabetes. Well, folks, I had the highest sugar spike since I stopped eating bread and potatoes. Can't recommend on any level.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 27, 2013
Reviewer: Cynthia in Florida
Horrible! Could not get to rise in bread maker. Threw it away. Tried several times.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 23, 2013
Reviewer: karen in Michigan
Maybe I just received a bad batch, but I didn't have any luck with this product. I used it in my Sunbeam Bread Machine, followed the directions exactly, and it came out like a brick. It did not rise. Not one to give up, I tried 2 more packages, determined to get it to work. I added an extra tsp of fast rising yeast to the 2nd loaf and a tbl of raw sugar.. it rose slightly, but was still hard as a brick and uneatable. I tried adding the extra yeast and molasses to the 3rd batch, it did rise, but is still very dense and not very tasty.. I have a good recipe for a low carb bread mix that does rise and taste great, so I'll just be sticking to that rather than waste my money on this mix from now on.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.95 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement