Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.99 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

LifeSource Foods
Oat Fiber 500  Buy Oat Fiber 500

Write an online review for
Oat Fiber 500 (LifeSource Foods)

25 Reviews
Average rating
(25)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)

Customer Reviews  

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful.
August 27, 2010
Reviewer: Donna in North Carolina
Use this for my flax meal buns--loads of fiber, very filling & sturdy little buns. RECIPE Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare 2 muffin top pans with oil and lethicin. Beat together: 5 jumbo eggs, 1/2 c water, 1/4 c olive oil. In another bowl, mix: 1-3/4 c golden flax meal, 3 T oat bran, 3 T almond meal, 1 T non-aluminum baking powder, 1 T xylitol, 1/2 t sea salt. Combine two mixtures, then divide into twelve muffin top wells. Bake 14-15 minutes. Remove and cool completely. These are the BOMB--even my girlfriends at work (who eschew low carb) like these.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful.
August 26, 2007
Reviewer: Sheryl in Oregon
Excellent product, I mix some with my Provision 6 Chocolate whey for my before bed meal....a little water and freeze for a superb "fudgesicle". Sometimes I add a little Cool Whip Free. I also add it to my whey shakes, it really smooths them out, also in my oatmeal. I plan on using it in our body building meal routines, great find!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful.
October 21, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in North Carolina
I love this stuff! I use it in all of my recipes calling for flour. I just substitute half with the oat fiber and half with a nut flour or flax meal and it turns out great! Just remember to add a little more liquid to your recipes when using the oat fiber.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
February 07, 2010
Reviewer: amy in California
Amazing! The consistency of this is just like flour. Bakes up the same. I made a cake using this and protein powder, egg whites and stevia and it came out just like cake - no carbs.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
February 05, 2010
Reviewer: julia in Oklahoma
I love this product along with Wheat Protein Isolate 5000 and 8000. It is a great flour substitute.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
May 08, 2014
Reviewer: Adam in Massachusetts
For those looking for the actual serving size: it is 3.1g/serving, NOT 5.2g/sv. This I verified from the extremely helpful Tova corporate office who verified with their lab the true macros. The carbs are 3g/serving. So for every gram of oat fiber 500 you're getting about~1g of carbs. You can do the whole net carbs thing but to be honest, the calories are real, the body does use it as energy. So it's about 3*4=12 calories/serving.

Otherwise you have here a terrific product. What I do is replace flour in my pizza dough recipe with oat fiber, combine with wheat protein isolate, and smooth out on a cookie sheet with a spatula. Just pat out your batter and it'll cover a lot of surface area. Put it in the oven on a lower rack at 450 for a few minutes to dehydrate the water and you're left with a nice Cakey crust. It works quite well! Overall 5 stars-does exactly what it's supposed to do and does so well. I Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
July 12, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in Maryland
Well, hello. This is the nicest tasting faux flour I've ever stumbled across. It has a nicer taste than either Wheat Protein Isolate or Resistant Wheat Starch. I just made a microwave cake with it, combining it with glucomannan powder (which does not taste fishy and gross like the shirataki noodles) and my cake had the best starchy mouth feel of anything I've baked in almost 10 years of low carb eating.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
March 19, 2011
Reviewer: Pat in Virginia
Oat Fiber is the greatest find! I use it to replace flour, flax seed meal, almond meal. Combined with glucomannan powder, it produces the most filling and tasty muffins and bread! I use it for OMM all the time. Zero calories and fiber? How can you miss?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
January 30, 2010
Reviewer: Barbara J in Florida
I LOVE this product! It looks exactly like regular high carb flour. I use it in combination with other low carb flours for baking.

Substitute some of it for flax meal in a recipe for a better texture and taste than flax meal alone. Yum.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
October 08, 2009
Reviewer: Zee in Illinois
Fantastic ~!Tastes great and mixes with all baking products well ! Great Low price for FIBER!!!BEST !!! Even tastes great with stevia and cinnamon - mixed - for High fiber Drink!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful.
October 08, 2008
Reviewer: Mr. & Mrs. in Illinois
Oat Fiber 500 is a Good "fiber." Oat Fiber 500 (made by LifeSource Foods) from Netrition is good, & it's much better than other brands of oat fiber I've tried from other websites. I stir one to two tablespoons of Oat Fiber 500 in a big glass of water & Stevia & a healthy brand of liquid vanilla flavor (alcohol-free) (SweetLeaf and Frontier are good brands of vanilla). Oat Fiber 500, and Stevia, and vanilla flavor can all be ordered here at Netrition all on one order. The oat fiber I tried from somewhere else was just Not drinkable when I put it in my mixture. This Oat Fiber 500 (from LifeSource Foods) is my very favorite oat fiber. This mixture is very bland; however, it is something that I can do, it is drinkable although bland, and it is a good "fiber." This mixture really does not interfere with my diet while being a good "nutritional fiber. I like the soothing feeling to my stomach sometimes. (This mixture also has eased a fussy, 'acidic' stomach for me.) I haven't cooked much with Oat Fiber 500 yet. When I tried to cook it in with my scrambled egg whites, it just would not get cooked enough. I like my scrambled eggs to be very cooked and Not still moist. (Corn bran or a low carb substitute for flour is better in the scrambled egg whites.) Oat Fiber 500 seems to stay good for a longer while than I've ever kept any around. I keep Oat Fiber 500 (from LifeSource Foods) in the kitchen, & I do keep ordering more.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 07, 2014
Reviewer: Sherry in North Carolina
Great product, having not cooked w/ oat fiber until just recently, I'm amazed at the texture it helps to give low carb items. Reasonably priced and a great source of fiber.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 08, 2014
Reviewer: Aerin in Washington
This really is a wonderful and integral part of the flour mix I use for low carb baking. It seems to help things to hold together without changing tastes or adding carbs.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 06, 2014
Reviewer: Tanya in Missouri
This is some of the best stuff ever. I have just started using it and I love it! Definitely will be purchasing more!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 11, 2013
Reviewer: Mary in New Jersey
I love the Oat Fiber 500. I use it in my flax wraps and pancakes.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 19, 2013
Reviewer: A customer in Pennsylvania
I originally ordered this to use in baking, and it does help with flavor mixed in with other low carb flours. You have to be careful not to add too much or your baked goods will be soggy in the middle. What I have found this works great for is low carb hot cereal. I really missed oatmeal and even oat bran has too many carbs for me. I don't like the flavor of most of the packaged low carb hot cereals so I make my own. I mix it with flax seed meal and ground almonds and it just takes a couple minutes to thicken up with water on the stove top - or if you're at work you can just add hot water and stir it until it thickens. I like to add Capella banana flavor drops too - makes a nice quick hot breakfast.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 06, 2013
Reviewer: Kelly in Massachusetts
LOVE THIS STUFF! I add this to everything I bake to boost the fiber content. Just be sure to increase the liquid as well. I don't recommend adding this to nonbaked items like protein shakes - it's pretty nasty that way. It will give it the aftertaste of cardboard. Other than that, awesome product and cheap! I always have a bag on hand.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 15, 2012
Reviewer: John in Texas
Really like this fiber. I add one tablespoon to my oatmeal and I add a tablespoon along with my whey protein when I go get fat free frozen yogurts. Doesn't really change the taste for that amount and doesn't really change the thickness all that much like psyllium does. I prefer Oat Fiber over ALL other soluble fiber powders. This is my second order and I purchased four bags.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 20, 2012
Reviewer: Cathy in Washington
This is a very high quality product. I've found it to be very useful in baking low-carb recipes. You can replace up to 1/4 of the flour in a recipe with oat fiber and it will make baked goods fluffier than those baked using only nut flours. It is drying, however, so you may need to adjust your recipe some.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 20, 2012
Reviewer: June in Alabama
This Oat Fiber is priced fair. It is also very light and wonderful in baking low carb products. Very light. Only thing I need to consider is how much liquid to use regularly. LOVE THIS PRODUCT.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 24, 2012
Reviewer: Monique in District of Columbia
Great stuff. Really helps my low carb baked goods!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 19, 2012
Reviewer: Mary in Ohio
Wonderful product--very satisfied with baking results. It does absorb a lot of liquid so add a little bit more to recipe. Tried using it as a shake thickener but tasted too much like raw flour so I only use it cooked. Going to try it as a cooked sauce thickener; should work well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 12, 2010
Reviewer: A customer in Maine
I use this product to add to different kinds of flours and grains to make whole grain bread and it effectively helps lower the carb count. This is a great product and will be buying more. a Happy Customer in Maine
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 01, 2009
Reviewer: Alanna in California
I LOVE this product. It is a wonderful way to make low-calorie bread products at home. I use it to replace some (or in some cases, all) of the flour in my recipes. On top of that it can be added effortlessly to things like smoothies and oatmeal, yogurt, etc.. as a way to boost the fiber.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 31, 2008
Reviewer: Kelly in Massachusetts
I love this stuff! It is the cheapest & easiest way to add fiber to your diet. I add it to everything from my protein shakes to my protein muffins. It adds lots of fiber without the calories. Because it absorbs so much moisture it results in bigger muffins for the same calories. I don't think I could live without it now! A must have for anyone watching their weight or trying to incorporate more fiber into their diet!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.99 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement