• 4/5 December 17, 2014
    Reviewer: Leslie in Illinois
    The best thing about this is the crunch -- in a low carb diet finding foods with this type of crunch is not easy. This is a bit like Rice Krispies but more dense. The maple flavor is very subtle and it is not very sweet. Though this is a bit of a liability for a cereal it means that it can be used in other things for its texture alone. I made a first-rate batch of low-carb "Scotcharoos" by mixing with some low-carb milk chocolate, butterscotch flavoring, peanut butter, etc. As a cereal, I often mix it with other things but I like it well enough with just unsweetened almond milk, heavy cream, and Walden Farms pancake syrup.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 22, 2014
    Reviewer: Alexandra in Michigan
    It is really crunchy and has a salty/sweet taste. I was worried about a strong maple flavor, but it is very mild. Do not let the cereal soak, because it is basically the same as chicken/beef crumbles but with a sweet flavoring instead of savory, so when it soaks, it has a meaty texture. It might actually be good for a fake BBQ dish because of its slight sweetness.

    Just a heads up - if you order the 8lb at once, have containers ready. It is a single plastic bag full, not 8 individual 1 lb bags.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 11, 2013
    Reviewer: James in Texas
    A pretty good low carb cereal. Out of the box (dry) is better tasting than with almond milk but I think (per these reviews) that I need to add something sweet when using almond milk.

    I was surprised by the serving size ( cup) and took a full cup on my first try - a mistake. With all the fiber (I guess) cup is plenty!

    It's not Honeynut Cheerios but it is a nice break from the normal bacon and egg breakfasts I do on low carb.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 28, 2013
    Reviewer: Jay in Connecticut
    If you need a real low carb morning cereal then this is your cereal! Its a bit of an acquired taste, but now I eat it every morning with sugar free almond milk (slightly sweetened with Splenda). It makes for a very low carb breakfast.
    This review is specific to Smaps Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 21, 2012
    Reviewer: Morgan D in West Virginia
    I liked this product much better eating it out of the bag, rather than mixing with milk like breakfast cereal. In milk (almond milk) it became too chewy (and more bland as I chewed and chewed and chewed...). Eating my serving dry was like a sweet crunchy snack.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 03, 2010
    Reviewer: Michael in California
    This cereal is not as tasty as the Hi-LO cereal, but because both brands are maple (Hi-Lo has other flavors too as most of you know), I mix them together, for the smaps has much lower carbs. Together they taste excellent, and the lower carb count means I can sneak in carbs elsewhere. Smaps are also very crunchy, which alone is a bore but mixed with the Hi-Lo the crunch factor is welcome because the Hi-Lo is actually a bit too soft.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 31, 2009
    Reviewer: Elizabeth in Idaho
    It was really great to discover a cereal product I can eat, gluten-free and low carb. The nuggets are really hard and crunchy at first, but if they soak in the bowl for a minute become easier to chew. A small serving "goes a long way" as far as being filling, also. I plan to keep buying these.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 24, 2009
    Reviewer: Jessica in Virginia
    I love Smaps cereal, maple flavor. I combine it with Calorie Countdown dairy beverage and get a meal that meets my caloric, protein, and carb requirements. The cereal actually has a good flavor to it, but the flavor could be stronger. It doesn't taste like I'm eating cardboard. The cereal is also very hard and I recommend letting it soak in the milk for a few minutes to soften it up. I think it's a little pricey, but I'm willing to pay that amount because it's very difficult to find a low calorie, low carb, high protein cereal that it tasty. HiLo cereals are cheaper and taste good, but they are much higher in carbs.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 06, 2009
    Reviewer: Monica in Maryland
    This cereal is a nice substitute for high carb cereals. It does have a different texture than regular cereal. It's not quite as crunchy, but it's great for when you miss cereal and milk in the morning. Sometimes I cut up a banana in it and it's delicious. I made a cookie recipe shown on the back of the box today and they were quite good. I would definitely recommend these to anyone on a low carb diet.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 29, 2008
    Reviewer: stacie in Connecticut
    Very good - considering on a low carb diet I thought I would never be able to have cereal again. I just add a few blueberries or strawberries and enjoy the crunch.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2015 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.