Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.95 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Dixie Diner
Carb Counters Muffin Mix

 
Write an online review for
Carb Counters Muffin Mix (Dixie Diner)

253 Reviews
Average rating
(181)
(34)
(17)
(11)
(10)

Customer Reviews  

March 11, 2013
Reviewer: Jessica in Pennsylvania
The taste of this mix (Golden Vanilla Almond) is really good because the vanilla is just right. The texture was spongy, like a dish sponge that's been in the water. The appearance was...shiny. Be sure to actually follow the directions and grease your muffin pan; I used papers and a lot of the muffin came off when I peeled the paper. On the other hand, I might have lost at least half a carb per serving that way.

It's a great treat if you judge it on its own merits. Just remember this isn't a Starbucks or bakery muffin, and you won't be disappointed.

This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix Select, Golden Vanilla Almond
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 21, 2012
Reviewer: Allene in Pennsylvania
The muffins taste like air - a little too light for me. I do like something heartier. But the taste is okay and I mix in slivered almonds to give the muffins some substance. I buy them for three reasons 1) they are low-carb; 2) they are fast to make; 3) I can grab two for breakfast and it is a nice break from eggs.

If you like a very light muffin, these are fine. If you like something with more substance, these are not for you.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
July 25, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in Florida
I tried the banana nut muffin mix. I had no sour cream, so I used some cottage cheese. It came out bland tasting, maybe it was the cottage cheese?

So I improvised and cut up little 2-3" banana nut squares that were in the fridge and cool, dipped them in room temp. coconut oil, then pressed the squares in flaked coconut, then put a slice of banana on the square which gave it the moistness it was missing, then drizzled it with the Madhava Hazelnut Agave Nectar...yumarino! The hazelnut nectar is wicked good. This is a pretty good combo, give it a try.

I gave the muffin mix a 3, because of the bland taste, but maybe it would have been 4-5 if I used the sour cream? But adding the above ingredients kicked it up to a 5 for me.

This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Banana Nut
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
July 25, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in Florida
I tried the banana nut muffin mix. I had no sour cream, so I used some cottage cheese. It came out bland tasting, maybe it was the cottage cheese?

So I improvised and cut up little 2-3" banana nut squares that were in the fridge and cool, dipped them in room temp. coconut oil, then pressed the squares in flaked coconut, then put a slice of banana on the square which gave it the moistness it was missing, then drizzled it with the Madhava Hazelnut Agave Nectar...yumarino! The hazelnut nectar is wicked good. This is a pretty good combo, give it a try.

I gave the muffin mix a 3, because of the bland taste, but maybe it would have been 4-5 if I used the sour cream? But adding the above ingredients kicked it up to a 5 for me.

This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Banana Nut
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 19, 2011
Reviewer: Kathy A in Connecticut
I would only rate this product if you cannot follow a recipe to make your own. Tried the banana & the cran/orange and OK but nothing I would chose to eat again. I have a standard sweet muffin recipe that I make with the carbalose flour & artificial sweeteners and I add whatever add-ins I want for flavor. So much tastier & inexpensive.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Cranberry Orange
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 05, 2010
Reviewer: Carrie in North Carolina
These muffins baked up nice with a great moist texture and a fabulous smell but to me they had a weird taste to them that I can't place other than to say it tasted a bit like dish soap. I really do not like coconut though and these have nice big coconut flakes and so that could be what I am tasting and it's just my dislike for it that is tainting my opinion! I am going to try another flavor next time based on the great moistness and texture. I topped these with cream cheese frosting and it did make it so I could eat them.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 28, 2010
Reviewer: jenni in Texas
These are okay. A bit salty so if you want to use butter, I would suggest using unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 18, 2009
Reviewer: Nicole in New Jersey
Well...the mix did produce muffins...and the texture wasn't a big problem, but the coconut taste was VERY strong in the carrot muffins (and I added fresh carrot and nuts to my batch).

It was almost overwhelming.

I'm trying two other flavors that don't have coconut in them and I'll see how that works out...

This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 13, 2009
Reviewer: Benita in Arizona
I have only tried the cranberry orange, apple cinnamon, banana nut, and blueberry cream. They were each good in their own right. The only thing I would change is that they were a little more moist, but that is typical of low carb baked items.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 08, 2008
Reviewer: Natalie in Virgin Islands
Made the blueberry cream muffins and were just so-so. There was almost no taste. Couldn't get my 7 year old to eat them. They are okay if you are desperate for a muffin like something.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Blueberry Cream
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 20, 2008
Reviewer: Jeannine in Wisconsin
I had high hopes for this - my first try for a mix - after reading so many reviews. But the 3 of us here who are LCing can't recommend these. I thought they were WAY too strong of coconut(which I like) & I see it's the first ingredient! My husband said "too sweet", and my daughter said "too much nutmeg flavor" (& I agree). Maybe there's another flavor that we'd like better...?
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 21, 2007
Reviewer: Brian in Oregon
Not bad, but hardly delicious. It's nice to be able to find anything like this that is low carb, and they offer a nice variety of flavors. But honestly they don't taste very good. At least the coconut ones have a really bitter aftertaste. It's the only flavor I've tried.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Coconut Cream
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 21, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Colorado
I have to disagree with most of the reviews. I made the muffins and could hardly eat them. They had a artificial sweetener taste that was hard for me to get over. I would not buy again.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 30, 2007
Reviewer: Tricia in California
For 1 net carb it wasn't bad. It curbed the craving for something baked. The texture was bit off very spongy not fluffy. I would still buy it again though.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 05, 2007
Reviewer: Dean in New York
I was really disappointed with the corn muffins. They didn't really taste like corn muffins and lacked any type of flavor. They are low carb so I knew they wouldn't be as good as the real thing but these didn't even come close to a regular corn muffin. I have a few other types that I am eager to try based on reviews but I have to give the corn muffin mix the thumbs down!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Corn
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 08, 2007
Reviewer: Kristine in California
These are not bad, I used to make muffins with a product called Hennmann's (I believe that was the brand) that were delicious but I can no longer find that brand. These are "cakelike" rather than "muffinlike".
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Cranberry Orange
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 02, 2007
Reviewer: Gladys in North Carolina
I did not like the Muffin Mix. It has no flavor to them. I think I could add something to help them out. They may taste better.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Apple Cinnamon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.95 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement