Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.99 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Dixie Diner
Carb Counters Instant Mashers  Buy Carb Counters Instant Mashers

Write an online review for
Carb Counters Instant Mashers (Dixie Diner)

139 Reviews
Average rating
(82)
(21)
(4)
(3)
(29)

Customer Reviews  
< Previous     |  1 2 3  |     Next >

June 08, 2008
Reviewer: Denise in Arizona
Excellent!!! Very tasty as I add chicken broth and other essentials to make it even more tastier. I would recommend you try all the flavors.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 03, 2008
Reviewer: Howard in Pennsylvania
Not quite the same as regular potatoes, but tastes good and are a lower carb alternative.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 05, 2008
Reviewer: Nancy in Pennsylvania
Great low carb option.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 14, 2008
Reviewer: susan in Alabama
Just like the real thing. I don't miss potatoes at all. Made with a little half and half and butter, these are delicious.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 13, 2008
Reviewer: WANDA in Indiana
Tried the plain Instant Mashers and was pleasantly surprised to find that they tasted just like regular mashed potatoes and the carb count was so much lower than real potatoes we didn't feel guilty. We will be trying the other flavors next.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 29, 2008
Reviewer: Gary in Pennsylvania
Excellent - prepared properly and served with butter is a substitute for regular potatoes.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 22, 2008
Reviewer: Larry in Pennsylvania
These are really good. I like them, since I can't have real thing.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 18, 2008
Reviewer: Laura in Missouri
I fully expected to be disappointed by the taste of these potatoes, but I LOVED them!!! I've ordered the Garlic, and the Sour Cream flavors to try also. I would have ordered more Classic Flavor, but they are out of stock :(
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 15, 2008
Reviewer: Esther in New Jersey
I love this product. It tastes and feels like it was made from fresh potatoes. The taste is great.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 02, 2008
Reviewer: Amelia in Florida
I ordered the plain instant mashers and they have made low carbing much easier at dinner time. I can still have my protein (meat, chicken, fish), green veggies, and ... mashers! They are great plain, but they are also very good with parmesian or cheddar cheese added to them. They have made my life easier.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 01, 2008
Reviewer: BF in Hawaii
Great potato taste. Aside from the very slight mealy texture afterwards, this is a great dish. I cannot believe the protein it has and the Low Carbs--forget the mashed/mock potatoes using cauliflower!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 09, 2008
Reviewer: H. Christopher in Washington
We like the garlicky Parmesan and sour cream and chives versions the best. They all make a good side dish with all of the foods we have tried. They are also easy to make. To further cut down on cholesterol and saturated fat we use smart balance instead of the butter called out. Works just fine.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 31, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Illinois
I have ordered these a few times.. They are good.. I dr. them up a tad with some cheese, serve them to the guys with gravy, and they like them.. I eat them minus the gravy.. I always put them on my order.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 29, 2007
Reviewer: Heather in Alabama
I really like all of the Instant Mashers. I sometimes add in a little cheese or some spices, but they are great just plain also. One of my favorite comfort foods is mashed potatoes so I'm so thankful to have these!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 19, 2007
Reviewer: Brooke in Georgia
I ordered this product b/c I knew it would be a long time (and has been a long time) 'till I ate white mashed potatoes again. I had ordered a bunch of things for my sweet tooth but decided I needed something savory as well. I fully expected these to have a very off taste even though they got good reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised. I made them with 1/2 and 1/2 and added some light sour cream and seasoned salt and they are very good! I also make a meal by making a Shepherd's Pie type dish with veggies and beef. Really a very good product.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 14, 2007
Reviewer: Barbara in Ohio
Best low carb potatoes I've had so far.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 29, 2007
Reviewer: Ruth in Virginia
I could not tell the difference from regular mash potato mix, neither could my unsuspecting friend after I told him of the switch.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 05, 2007
Reviewer: MARY in Florida
I've missed real mashed potatoes so much and the mashed cauliflower is good but the consistency just isn't there. This product has the perfect consistency and tastes great especially after adding sour cream, butter and salt. Thank you Dixie Diner and thank you Netrition.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 16, 2007
Reviewer: Sandy in North Carolina
My whole family had these for the first time tonight and even the ones who are not low carbing liked these. They were smooth and creamy. Very tasty. And I'm so glad we found them. Will order again. A+++++
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 16, 2007
Reviewer: Linda in Florida
These are great! I've found that using the butter and cream variation of the recipe tastes the best. It is so nice to have an alternative for potatoes!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 24, 2007
Reviewer: Darrell in Florida
I tried these potato substitutes in hopes of being able to eat mashed potatoes once again,instead of the little "teaser" portions of real mashed potatoes. I thought they were great! My wife's real potatoes are still the best hands down, but Since I've been a diabetic for the last 1 1/2 years, I can't eat hardly any potatoes. These were a welcome treat for me. Some people may not like them, but if you can't have the real thing, these are great. Did I mention that even a double helping doesn't raise my BG?, and that's important to any Diabetic.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 22, 2007
Reviewer: Jay in Connecticut
I was using mashed cauliflower as a substitute for mashed potatoes but this product tastes like the real thing. I mix it with Calorie Count-Down Milk instead of Water and Cream per the directions and I thing it's great. I will, on occasion, mix in Cauliflower to add a bit of texture but it's not really necessary. I didn't care as much for the Garlic Parmesan and Sour Cream variations, but that's just a personal taste thing.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 17, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Wisconsin
This is an excellent replacement for mashed potatoes. Rather than using gravy, I discovered that blending in freshly pressed garlic and shredded parmesan, along with a bit of heavy cream or sour cream and topped with a pat of butter is a wonderful dinnertime treat. I like the Classic Flavor since I can experiment with different cheeses and spices.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 01, 2007
Reviewer: Rebecca in California
I like to mix the mix into steamed cauliflower and it is delicious!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 02, 2007
Reviewer: melanie in Washington
I was a little leery about ordering these because of some of the negative reviews. I am so glad I went ahead and ordered some. They are very good! Of course they are not the real thing but they sure come close. I am going to order more- the whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 17, 2007
Reviewer: Roni in Florida
You can add all kinds of spices and they taste awesome.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 15, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
Carb Counter Instant Mashers are one of the best tasting low carb items I have ordered. They really do taste like regular instant mashed potatoes.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 20, 2007
Reviewer: Jean in Tennessee
Love these. By far the best low carb "potatoes" on the market. Our favorite is classic but they are all good
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 02, 2007
Reviewer: Carrie in Texas
Potatoes have always been a daily food for me. But when I started Atkins, no more potatoes. I was doubtful and pessimistic when I first purchased these Instant Mashers. Wow! They are VERY good! I am thrilled to be able to have my potatoes again!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 02, 2007
Reviewer: Barbara in Texas
Finally! A REAL comfort food! After nine years on a low carb diet, didn't realize how much I had missed something so simple. Great texture and taste and my husband was even impressed with the flavor.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 02, 2007
Reviewer: Isabel in New Jersey
I have bought this product numerous times and I love it. It's a great substitute for mashed potatoes. I don't feel like I'm missing the starch anymore when I have my steak!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 30, 2007
Reviewer: Juan Carlos in Puerto Rico
Many people complain about the flavor, but after being three months without eating any potatoes at all, they tasted great to me. I tried the classic flavor and ordered them again. They are great to me! Thanks Dixie Diner for such a wonderful product.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
December 29, 2006
Reviewer: Elisabeth in Virginia
Well they're not the "real" thing obviously, and I did used to like the Ketatoes better (more flavor and firmer texture), but I so miss mashed potatoes that I am grateful the Mashers exist and I enjoy them very much. I find that the garlicky parmesan flavor is by far the best and really very good and full of flavor (if you happen to like garlic that is. I do.)

The regular flavor is kind of bland but can be greatly enhanced by either adding some mayo (not mixed in but a dollop on top so you can get a little with every bite), or a few drops of truffle oil (ditto). Okay, so the truffle oil is kind of pricey (about $10 for a smallish bottle) but a little goes a long way so it lasts a long time. Oh, and adding butter (or butter flavor) helps too!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 25, 2014
Reviewer: amanda in Minnesota
Real potatoes are better, these stand up to all the other instant/flake brands though. I tried the garlic, made it with butter flavoring instead of butter and plain almond milk instead of cream. Came out maybe a little on the gritty side? But the taste is good. Not sure it is worth the price to purchase again...
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 06, 2013
Reviewer: Jennifer in Maryland
These have been great! We used them to help keep Thanksgiving low carb and they were a hit. I've also used them to make shepherds pie and other such dishes. My husband actually liked the shepherds pie better with this then with normal instant mashed potatoes.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 14, 2013
Reviewer: Maureen in Alabama
Okay, these were pretty good. I ate them with an Atkins chopped steak and gravy. Good comfort food :) I love reading reviews here for the creative suggestions and recipes for using some of the products. So I made the mashers with chicken broth, the butter spray pumps BUT added some FF cream cheese and a bit of greek yogurt instead of heavy cream and butter. I sauteed chopped garlic and stirred that in. Turned out creamy and like others say good for "instant potatoes". I THINK I liked these better than the Carb Counters but only had them once. I'd like to try the garlicky parmesean next!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 13, 2012
Reviewer: Lisa in Colorado
I love this product. It fulfills my craving for potatoes in my low carb world. It never impacts my weight-loss or maintenance.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 09, 2012
Reviewer: Lisa in Georgia
These mashers are a PERFECT substitute for the real thing. They keep me from craving or giving in to temptation by providing a good l/c alternative that satisfies! They can taste a wee bit dry or chalky, for lack of a better term, but a little tweaking usually takes care of that. Add a little more liquid, or butter, sour cream, cheese...whatever your personal taste desires. After the usual prep I usually just add a little smart balance to mine, and they're great.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 19, 2012
Reviewer: Marty in California
We're doing the Dukan Diet, and though the preparation instructions called for heavy cream (no-no) and butter (double no-no), we were able to substitute with pretty excellent results. We sauteed some minced garlic, and added a third of a cup of fat-free sour cream and about 6 I-Can't-Believe-It's-Not-Butter spray pumps. Stirred in a cup of boiling water and a masher packet, mixing until smooth. Then we mixed in some shredded soy cheddar cheese, and a handful of diced green onion, and served immediately. It was actually a pretty decent baked potato mash, though it did dry out as the meal progressed. It's definitely the best Dukan-friendly (if not explicitly Dukan-approved) carb-replacement we've found so far.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 28, 2011
Reviewer: Timothy in New York
The texture is just like other instant mashed potatoes. The flavor, as expected, is different. There definitely is the potato taste in these, but there is a bit of a different flavor that was a bit like cornmeal to me. They were still good and I would definitely order them again. I totally expected them to be bad and was very happy they were not.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 12, 2009
Reviewer: Tammy in North Carolina
I tried the Garlicky Parmesan before and really didn't like it. Then I tried the Classic flavor and I used a little garlic salt in the mix.. I loved it!!! A little pasty, but since I can't have regular potatoes, this is the next best thing.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 15, 2008
Reviewer: John in Wisconsin
This is a very tasty product and similar to real mashed potatoes. I spice mine up using some garlic, bacon, and cheddar and it is delicious.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 29, 2008
Reviewer: Janet in Ohio
I really do enjoy these. They do have a slight graininess to them, however they are an excellent substitute for the real thing.

The regular mashers are my faves because I make low carb gravy with them. Yummy!

This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 30, 2008
Reviewer: Emily in California
OK, so they're not real mashed potatoes but my husband and I always say you can get used to anything. And, really, these are pretty good, especially if you add some butter, a few fresh herbs... This is my "go to" potato substitute.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 09, 2008
Reviewer: Rhonda in Georgia
This is pretty decent. I buy the plain ones and add my own seasonings.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 07, 2008
Reviewer: Garry in Michigan
A nice low carb alternative substitute for mashed potatoes. Good taste, acceptable texture. My favorite is the garlic parmesan but all flavors are top shelf. Reheats well in the microwave too.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 09, 2007
Reviewer: Carolyn in Tennessee
Very similar in texture and flavor of real mashed potatoes. It does satisfy the craving for potatoes. I give it a thumbs up.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 07, 2007
Reviewer: Tina in Ohio
Have only tried the classic, and would highly recommend. You need to play with the consistency because they can sometimes come out too runny. I use this for special meals like Thanksgiving dinner. Gravy makes a nice addition. If you ever tried the old Ketatoes, you'd definitely give these a 5! If you are comparing to regular, instant potatoes, you would give them a 4.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 07, 2007
Reviewer: Teresa in California
My husband loves mashed potatoes/gravy but we considered them off limits on a low carb diet. Not any more! I am very happy that I found this product. It is very tasty and an excellent low carb substitute for the "real thing". Hint - I found that adding a little extra whipping cream and or butter results in a creamier texture.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 01, 2007
Reviewer: Richard in Illinois
I have eaten the original flavor, and it is the best low carb mashed potato product I've tried. It is made from potatoes. How do they strip the starch (carbs) from the potatoes?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

< Previous     |  1 2 3  |     Next >

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.99 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement