Customer Reviews

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 23, 2011
    Reviewer: Joni in South Carolina
    Perfect low-carb birthday sheet cake. This is by far the best low carb chocolate cake I've ever eaten, and I've baked quite a few from scratch. I used the Devils Food Cake Mix following the directions (adding butter, melted chocolate, etc.) It has the puffy, cake-like texture missing in so many low carb baked products. Makes 12 generous servings in a 9 x 13" pan (maybe even 16 servings.) Frosted with Carb Counter's Chocolate Butter Frosting, it has 5 g of carb per serving, and you can't go wrong.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 02, 2007
    Reviewer: Luis in Florida
    Best low-carb chocolate cake I've ever had, and I have tried plenty before. Incredibly moist and spongy. It has become a staple in my diet.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 11, 2015
    Reviewer: Emily in Ohio
    No its not DQ yummy ice cream cake or sugary carb filled icing cake, BUT its pretty good as a low carb treat. Low carb life saver and it made a awesome treat as a birthday cake topped with a few strawberries, raspberries, and cool whip.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 30, 2010
    Reviewer: Margaret in Wisconsin
    This is our favorite low carb dessert for special occasions -- it is easy to make and results in a very moist chocolate cake. We substitute 1/3 cup of Irish whiskey for 1/3 cup water and make a whip cream frosting adding cocoa, Irish whiskey, sweetener, and chopped walnuts to the whipped cream. It is so yummy even our high carb dessert eating guests like it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 09, 2010
    Reviewer: Marshall in Oklahoma
    Moist and great tasting. Definitely would try again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 25, 2009
    Reviewer: heidi in Minnesota
    Chocolate cake is one of my very favorite low carb items. Only downfall is that you have to buy baker's chocolate separately, but the taste is worth the trouble!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 09, 2009
    Reviewer: DEANNA in Mississippi
    This is the best lo carb chocolate cake I have tried. It freezes well and goes well with strawberries.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 15, 2008
    Reviewer: John in Wisconsin
    I was a bit apprehensive as to how this would turn out but it is delicious. I do not think I could survive on a low carb diet without Carb Counter's products. I have been greatly impressed with all that I have tried.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 08, 2007
    Reviewer: Robin in California
    The cake bakes/puffs up like a regular cake, but then deflates and looks more like a cake-like brownie when cooled. Very tasty with a good chocolate flavor. I used cocoa instead of baking chocolate.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 28, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Florida
    I have tried most of the cake mix varieties and they're all among the best low carb products I've ever tasted. The German Chocolate, Carrot Cake and Applesauce Cake are my favorites.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 May 13, 2008
    Reviewer: Cindy in Kansas
    Hard to review as I substituted a lot but here goes: I substituted 1 1/4 cups egg substitute for the 4 jumbo eggs, 1/4 cup sour cream, 1 tablespoon glycerine from NOW products (helps with moistness in fat free products), 1/4 cup apple sauce, 1t vanilla, 2T sugar free instant vanilla pudding, dry. This decreased the calorie count from 146 to about 70 for each cupcake (it made 12 full cupcakes) Frosting enough for about 6 cupcakes and was a little saccharine tasting but not horrible. They rose pretty nicely but were spongy as egg substitute will often cause. I would buy again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 14, 2007
    Reviewer: Elissa in Washington
    Fast and easy to make, Dixie Diner's Devil's Food Cake Mix results in a sweet, moist and springy dessert that is a treasure for a low-carbing celiac dieter. The taste is enjoyable, albeit a little saltier than ideal. One caution: my cake was done at 17 minutes, a full minute before the advised 18 minute baking time. Overcooking yields a tough dry cake, so start testing the cake's center early.

    For comparison to another low carb gluten-free cake, Dixie Diner's Devil's Food Cake's texture is more like a traditional cake than Expert Food's Cake-Ability-based chocolate almond cake, but the Cake-Ability dessert is richer in taste. While I'd give slightly higher marks to the Expert Food's cake, the EF Cake-Ability chocolate almond cake is much higher in calories and thus harder to fit into a weight loss plan that counts both carbs and calories.

    I do wish Dixie Diner had a soy-free Devil's Food mix, but nothing's perfect. Overall this cake is a delight.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 January 24, 2008
    Reviewer: Sabrina in South Carolina
    The taste is good but the texture is strange - not cake like really. The brownies are really good in taste and texture so I was a little disappointed in this one.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 July 31, 2010
    Reviewer: Dwayne E. in Tennessee
    Classic Devils Food - It's not the worst I've ever had but I'd hesitate to call it good. I don't think I'll be eating it all. Tastes a bit like a sponge with a nasty aftertaste. Prepared precisely with the directions. It's not dry and the moisture content was OK. However the texture is spongy but not in a good way to me. I used unsalted butter but it was still pretty salty. With other options I just can't see making things like this. It just does not compare. Granted it is lower carb but that's about all I can say good for it by comparison. I thought a piece of freshly made low carb cake might be a nice change. I was wrong. The dixie diner brownies make a better cake snack.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 November 12, 2009
    Reviewer: marcus in Illinois
    Carb Counters carrot cake mix. This tastes horrible. Has an tragic aftertaste it made me sick to my stomach. Do not waste your money!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 February 26, 2007
    Reviewer: Judy in New Jersey
    I really have to disagree with the other reviewer. I'm an experienced baker and made sure that I took this cake out of the oven prior to its completed time...and it was still incredibly dry, though it was spongy...but more like a kitchen sink sponge than a cake. Definitely a no-no.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2015 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.