Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.99 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Dixie Diner
Carb Counters Donut Mix  Buy Carb Counters Donut Mix

Write an online review for
Carb Counters Donut Mix (Dixie Diner)

20 Reviews
Average rating
(6)
(1)
(0)
(3)
(10)

Customer Reviews  

January 03, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in Missouri
I love these. I bought a little donut maker on sale at Macys, and I make these little donuts all the time. They do have that strong artificial sweetener flavor. The chocolate flavor makes up for it!!!!!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 09, 2010
Reviewer: Marshall in Oklahoma
The chocolate is great and if you omit all the oil, eggs, etc. and replace with diet soda, it is very low calorie too. Highly recommend.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
October 05, 2007
Reviewer: MariLyn in California
I never know what to expect from "low-carb" foods, having had some real icky experiences. But let me tell you, this one scores the highest, the bestest, the greatest! They are so good, I even served them to people who weren't concerned about carbs, and they loved them! The only problem was in not eating them all at once! I promise, you will go, "hmm, which should I have, chocolate or glazed? Glazed or chocolate?
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Glazed
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 03, 2007
Reviewer: Tammy in Ohio
The chocolate donut mix is a wonderful cake-like donut that really takes care of the chocolate-sweet craving. Don't overbake, and be prepared for some crumbles, but all in all a wonderful mix. Also delicious with low carb vanilla ice cream! Have bought before, and will continue to do so.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 01, 2007
Reviewer: Gail in New York
This is a great product. They taste good and are easy to prepare.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Glazed
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 30, 2007
Reviewer: Juan Carlos in Puerto Rico
These donuts taste great. I prepared donut holes with it. At first I did not like the glaze, but just the delicious flavor of the donuts was enough. Then I discovered that if you leave the glaze from one day to the other it tastes great. It is a wonderful product, just like many of the products made by Dixie Diner.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Glazed
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 19, 2009
Reviewer: Yaira in Virginia
These are pretty good, a bit more like cakey texture. Go easy on the butter though or else it'll taste a bit too salty. I wish the glaze would sit on top rather than getting absorbed into the doughnut.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Glazed
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 21, 2011
Reviewer: Nicole in West Virginia
Didn't taste good to me, but it wasn't in-edible. I am a WLS patient on a low carb/ higher fat diet, so I opted to make doughnut holes with the chocolate mix in a fryer vs. a doughnut baking pan. That still didn't make them tasty. Perhaps the frying was a no-no with the mix. It came out really dry and salty tasting. The glaze was a huge let down. How??? Its' just sugar sub and butter????

I would say be more creative and make your own then try this pretty packaged "easy" kit.

This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 29, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Minnesota
Has an unusual tasting ingredient. I love almost all the other Dixie diner products.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
September 27, 2008
Reviewer: Jason in Georgia
The batter Tasted Great, they smelled great while cooking, and even the first few bites tasted great, but it seems the cooler they got the more unbearable they got. Aftertaste became more awful also. I think its in the frosting, I'm not sure. I used unsalted butter.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
July 16, 2008
Reviewer: Carole in Massachusetts
Unless you like chewing on a warm and fluffy salt block, stay away from these. If you are craving chocolate try the Dixie Diner Carb Counters Snackin' Cake in German Chocolate...if you are craving a warm cinnamon-y type donut, then go to the Dixie Carb Snacking Cake in the Cinnamon. If it's just a donut you want, then put the cake mixes in a donut pan, but whatever you do, stay away from these awful salty tasting- and especially after-tasting donuts. I usually like their products and I follow the directions to a T (meaning I did use non-salted butter in this)--but this is just plain nasty. Buy the Snackin' Cake or Muffin Mixes instead. You are warned....
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
October 16, 2007
Reviewer: Susan K in Iowa
I love Krispy Kreme donuts and I wasn't expecting the glazed donut mix to taste the same. I had to purchase the donut pan so I could bake the donuts. The donuts turned out fluffy and smelled great. When I tasted the first one, I got half way through it, and I had to throw it out, including the rest of the donuts. I don't know if it was the glaze, or the donuts, but they tasted like pure salt. Now I understand why the recipe calls for unsalted butter, which I did follow. The salt taste stayed with me for several hours. I will never eat them, again! If the rating scale had a zero, I would use that rating for this product.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Glazed
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
March 23, 2007
Reviewer: JENNIFER in Texas
I thought the glaze was awful! It's got an extremely strong artificial sweet taste. Too much for me to handle. The donuts without the glaze would be better but still not worth the cost. I would much rather spend my extra treat carbs on things that taste less "fake". I guess I just had high hopes that I could have my donuts and eat them too... Such is a low carb diet! Sorry Dixie Diner, I do love your other items though just not these crazy donuts!! YUCK!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 03, 2011
Reviewer: Leslie in Illinois
I tried the glazed version awhile back and being a donut lover I had high hopes. After cooking they certainly looked somewhat donut-like and after applying the glaze they looked downright inviting. Any similarity between them and donuts pretty much ended there, however. The texture wasn't right for a donut -- more fragile and lacking any chewiness. The flavor was somewhat bitter and salty, and the glaze tasted almost sour. It wasn't a good experience. I sometimes think about trying them again to see if it was a bad batch or if maybe they have improved the recipe . . . but I need to wait until I have forgotten that first batch.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Glazed
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 26, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in Louisiana
I only tried the chocolate donut mix but they were awful! I took one bite and threw all of them out. It was a total waste of money and I was very disappointed that the low carb donuts tasted so bad!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 21, 2010
Reviewer: Julie in New York
NASTY!!!! I was excited to make these after reading all the reviews. Perhaps I should have used unsalted butter in this but the "donuts" and glaze were both way too salty and way way too sweet. I made donut holes that turned out more like cookies. I baked them as recommended and found after they had cooled they were too rubbery. Putting them in the toaster to crisp up the outside helped get more of that slight crunch chocolate glazed donuts have from being fried.

Maybe frying these would be better (for someone on Atkins). The glaze was just disgusting, even the second day. Far too sweet and just got absorbed into the donuts.

I also bought the glazed ones. I will use unsalted butter and some coconut oil instead. I will also try frying them.

Save your money.

This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 06, 2010
Reviewer: A customer in California
If I could rate it a negative 100 I would. This isn't food, this is sawdust repackaged.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Glazed
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 05, 2009
Reviewer: Loretta in Oregon
I bought both kinds of the Dixie Diner Donut Mixes, and was so looking forward to them. I have not made the chocolate yet, but today I baked the Glazed donut mix....UGH!!!! I followed the directions to the letter, but it turned out horribly BITTER, and sort of stung my mouth. Could it have been old and rancid?? I could find no expiration date on this package. I was so disappointed, that I hesitate to make the chocolate donut mix. The glaze was okay, it was definitely the donut part of the item that was quite bitter and "off". After eating part of one, and throwing out the last part of it, I actually threw all the rest of them into the trash...they were THAT BAD. Drats!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Glazed
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 21, 2008
Reviewer: Jody in Wisconsin
I made these exactly as the package tells you to and these were absolutely disgusting, I was so upset that I paid that much for them, now I like most everything and I love Netrition, but these were horrible in my opinion and very costly to just throw out....very disappointed!!!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Glazed
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 10, 2007
Reviewer: Sunni in Florida
Very disappointed with the glazed doughnut mix. We followed directions precisely, and the doughnut holes came out looking like flat cookies and tasted like baking soda. The glaze was nice, but a gallon of it wouldn't have helped these doughnuts
This review is specific to Carb Counters Donut Mix, Glazed
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.99 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement