Customer Reviews

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 30, 2013
    Reviewer: Barbara in Montana
    I reviewed the everything bagels and wanted to review these buns also. Very good taste and no blood sugar spike. This year with the Thanksgiving leftovers, I made real stuffing once again!! I toasted a hot dog bun let it dry, chopped it up, then added it to the usual stuffing ingredients, little chicken broth, an egg and baked it. It was so yummy!!

    I've been almost 2 years without any bread product due to diabetes. I am so happy to be able to have bread again!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 December 10, 2013
    Reviewer: Christee in North Carolina
    I like many of the Great Low Carb Bread Company's offerings, but these hot dog rolls just didn't work for me. The hot dog rolls are similar, if not identical, in texture and taste to the Great Low Carb hamburger and dinner rolls. Yes, the seemingly unavoidable slightly dense, chewy/spongy low carb bread texture is present. The taste is neutral with no off flavors that I can detect. The problem is that I prefer soft, squishy, sweet hot dog rolls. Probably unattainable in low carb, but my preference nonetheless. The slightly dense, chewy texture of these hot dog rolls really sucked up a lot of condiments. Even though these rolls are slightly smaller than wheat-based hot dog rolls, for me, the ratio of roll to hot dog is off. There is just too much roll which gets in the way of enjoying the hot dog. I rate these rolls a 3 because, really, there's nothing wrong with them. They just don't appeal to me. So, for now, I remain hot dog bunless.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 17, 2014
    Reviewer: JOEL in New York
    Hope they're really as low carb as they claim as they're delicious. I'm doing the Atkins diet and have lost a lot of weight which I couldn't have done without the low carb bread companies products.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 26, 2013
    Reviewer: Laura in Washington
    Taste and texture is decent, and it passed my "glucose meter test" (little to no impact on my blood sugar), so I have no complaints. I think I prefer using these as "hoagie rolls" instead of hot dog buns -- when I popped my favorite Costco chicken sausage in one, my main reaction was "hmm...maybe I don't miss hot dog buns as much as I thought I did." But, a good product! I will definitely be trying more Great Low Carb Bread Company products.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 05, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Georgia
    Just received my first bag of these. I ate one with some butter to see how it tasted before I made my first chili dog. It's a little chewy, but no after taste that I could detect. Actually tasted very good! I had craved chili dogs with onions and slaw so long. Being diabetic I just cannot eat all the bread. So, most of mine were cut up in a bowl. Now with only 2 carbs per bun, I can really fix and eat a real chili dog. I am sure with the hot dog, chili, cheese, onions, and slaw; I probably won't be able to taste the bun. But, it tastes pretty good just by itself. I'm going to try their hamburger buns and bread too. Thanks Netrition for carrying these! Your prices are great! Shipping is wonderful! Everything comes packaged so well. I can't believe how I ever made it before this site. ;o)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 November 10, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    Rolls were small but served its purpose.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 10, 2015
    Reviewer: Nicole in Minnesota
    I love these hot dog buns! They are extremely good when broiled briefly for a little crunch on the outside. I also use them as dinner rolls for low carb chocolate spread or cream cheese. Yummy!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 26, 2015
    Reviewer: Frederick in Missouri
    What a terrific company - Great Low Carb Bread Company. Every product I have tried has been great- especially considering the incredible low carb count. This has been a godsend. I have found the buns to be excellent and I can't tell you what a pleasure it is to have a real brat on a bun! Full heartedly recommend!!! PS - also great source of fiber!!!!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 14, 2015
    Reviewer: A customer in Arkansas
    I love bread, but being on low carb meant I couldn't have any until found the Great Low Carb Bread Company products on Netrition. The hot dog buns are smaller than what I'm used to with a hot dog bun, more like a fat breadstick. But the taste is very good. We've been slicing them into three pieces of thin bread per bun, and using one buttered, toasted slice to eat with breakfast. Will definately buy more of these!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 04, 2014
    Reviewer: Janet in California
    I love these convenient and tasty hot dog buns! I take them directly from the freezer, pop them into the microwave for 15-20 seconds to slightly defrost them, slice with a serrated bread knife, toast them in the broiler or toaster oven, back side first, and then slather with butter, mayo, mustard, SF pickle relish, whatever your favorite or "whim du jour" is. They come out crisp and golden brown with a nice crunch texture and bite to them, a really scrumptious mouth feel, just like toast. Just be careful when broiling. It only takes a few seconds, and you do NOT want to waste these beauties by burning them.

    Then nuke a Polish Sausage or hot dog for a minute or two (depending on your meat of choice), pop that into your waiting toasty bun, throw a pickle on the plate, maybe some coleslaw, and voila! A great meal for a hot summer day or anytime for a quicky, "feed me NOW!" type of meal. Wonderful! This is one of my favorite meals, and these hot dog buns are an important part of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 02, 2014
    Reviewer: Zygmont in Washington
    Finally I can enjoy a good hotdog on a real hotdog bun without all the high carbs ! Was tired of using the low carb wraps I bought at the store. Now I can throw a dog on the bbq and have the real great taste of a honest to goodness hotdog bun. Literally, I believe you have saved my life. The hamburg buns are great as we'll! Thanks again!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 15, 2014
    Reviewer: Gretchen in Oregon
    These buns are delicious. I don't just use them for hotdog buns. I often cut them at an angle and use them as a garlic bread or fancy them up with other toppings for an appetizer. no one ever knows they are low carb.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 01, 2014
    Reviewer: brenda in Illinois
    I did not use this bun for sandwiches. Slice the bun open, butter it and sprinkle lightly with garlic powder. Toast on both sides. It makes a very good substitute for crusty bread or croutons.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 28, 2014
    Reviewer: Patricia in Texas
    YUM! WOW these are good. They hold well with chili, cheese etc.....
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 17, 2014
    Reviewer: Keith in Alabama
    I ordered these hoping they would just make eating a hot dog or lunch meat easier and the taste would not "get in the way" of the contents of the bun. I was very pleasantly surprised how good these buns tasted. I can now enjoy an occasional hot dog or sandwich without cheating on my low carb diet, thank you!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 16, 2015
    Reviewer: A customer in Massachusetts
    These hot dog buns were tasty. But, they tasted exactly like the Great Low Carb Bread Co.'s Hamburger Buns. Not a bad thing, per se. Same taste, different shape. But, the richness of the bread takes on a slightly different effect combined with a hot dog.

    I think we're accustomed to those fluffy, light, airy hot dog buns of summers past, and these are not them. They are quite dense and filling, and can take away the taste of the hot dog more readily than the Hamburger Bun does for the burger.

    That said, they were still enjoyable. I would reorder. But, one hot dog bun per meal is quite enough. These buns would probably be better served as a roll for a sausage, or shaved steak.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 21, 2013
    Reviewer: Rita in Tennessee
    I'm type 2 diabetic and have to eat low carb now. Never tried low carb bread before ordering this and the cinnamon bread. The buns are dense, chewy and spongy with flax seeds throughout but taste OK. Not the same as a regular hot dog bun but a good substitute for them. I also split one and used it to make a French bread pizza. It was excellent for this use and made a great individual pizza crust!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2015 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.